UNSW Materials Engineering Student Society

MATSOC is the student society for all students studying Materials Science and Engineering at the University of New South Wales.

Throughout the year we hold events such as BBQs and soccer matches, along with annual activities like a camp, harbour cruise and ball. Click on the video below for a snippet of what first year camp is like.

Our aim is to provide help and mentoring to all students of Materials Science and Engineering and to encourage students to socialise together, both through MATSOC and jointly held events with other societies.

We also provide information to the community of the work that is being done by the School.

Planned events for 2019:

  • Study sessions for exams
  • BBQ
  • First year camp with ChemEng
  • Career talks by industry professionals
  • Engineering Sports Day
  • Laser tag
  • Jerseys
  • Movie night

First year representatives are elected at our first BBQ of the semester. Being part of MATSOC is an amazing way to boost your resume and to obtain entry into more influential positions!

Join the MATSOC Facebook page for regular updates on events and other Materials-related happenings. Occasionally, opportunities for internships are posted there also!

Bring your friends and come along to our BBQs held every Semester! We do our best to accommodate everyone's timetable by checking with our Year Reps, so be sure to let them know if certain times are a no-go for you. BBQs are not just a great way to bond with your peers - often our academic staff join in the fun also!

You can contact MATSOC via email at

Suggestions are always welcome!

The 2020MATSOC Executive Committee Members are:

1st year reps: Hayden Sammuels and David Pham

2nd year reps: Jade Yuen and Mohammed Ali

3rd year reps: Regina Tang and Paolo Alegro

4th year reps: Simon Genikov and Scott Jones

International representative: Yinjia Wang

Social director: Ewing Chen

Marketing director: Ally Bradley

Arc delegate: Ally Bradley 

Treasurer: Scott Jones

Secretary: Clayton Feng

Vice president (Internals): Willkie Huang

Vice president (Externals): Bernie Pudadera

President: Anthony Zhang