Industry Advisory Board

The School’s Industry Advisory Board is an integral part of its management structure and provides a link with a key stakeholder group. Its purpose is:

  1. To contribute to the strategic direction for teaching and research by reviewing and providing industry input to undergraduate course content, research directions, recruitment and staffing and to provide support for student recruitment and scholarships
  2. To provide an external stakeholder voice with Government to influence investment and priorities with regard to facilities and equipment and research grant programmes
  3. To act as an industry network that the School can use to test ideas and seek advice.

Industry Advisory Board Members:

Roger Leigh (Chair)

Senior Project Manager

Cochlear Limited

Adam Berkovich

Manager - Carbon

Pacific Technology Centre

Pacific Aluminium

Lyndon Edwards

Head, Institute of Materials Engineering



Dr Robert Every AO


Chairman of the Board

Wesfarmers and Boral

Catherine Foley

Chief - Division of Materials Science and Engineering


Michiel Freislich

Director, Energy and Environment

Iron and Steel


Edward Humphries

Pump Technology Centre Manager

Weir Minerals

Cathy Inglis

Group Technical, Research and Engineering Manager


Dr George N. Melhem

UNSW Adjunct Professor

Managing Director, Perfect Engineering Pty Ltd

Chris Mouatt

National Technical Manager

Boral Clay & Concrete

Peter Lovibond, Acting Dean, Faculty of Science

Paul Munroe, Head of School, Materials Science & Engineering

Owen Standard, Deputy Head of School, Materials Science & Engineering

Lucy Zhang, School Manager, Materials Science & Engineering