Anniversary Dinner Celebrating 60 Years of UNSW

1 December 2009

Some 187 former students, staff, friends and industry contacts enjoyed an evening of fun over dinner on October 30 at the Star Room in Darling Harbour.

There were speeches by Head of School Prof. Mark Hoffman, UNSW Alumnus of the Year in the Science category Dr. Bob Every, Associate Dean of Strategic Industry Relations Scientia Professor Veena Sahajwalla, Acting Dean of Science Prof. Ian Dawes and former graduate Jonathon Kirk now at Cochlear.

The awarding of the infamous “Seat of Learning”, a School of Metallurgy tradition started in 1956, was a humorous affair with no fewer than 10 former recipients of the unusual honour attending the dinner.

Good fun was had by all, as the pictures testify (courtesy of Susan Trent / Gasbag Studios).