Dr Nima Haghdadi honored for outstanding microscopy

17 December 2019

Dr Nima Haghdadi, a postdoctoral Research Fellow working with A/Prof. Sophie Primig, has just been featured in the Christmas issue of the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society (AMMS) newsletter. Nima received the Thermo Fisher Scientific (TFS) Cowley-Moodie Award in 2018 for his outstanding contribution to physical sciences through electron microscopy. This award is judged on the basis of original research in the physical sciences involving electron microscopy in Australia. The award provided Nima with international air tickets to travel to Belgium and China to present his research on high entropy alloys and additive manufacturing as an invited speaker at the 7th International Conference on Recrystallization and Grain Growth (ReX&GG 2019) in Ghent, Belgium and the 10th Pacific Rim International Conference on Advanced Materials and Processing (PRICM-10) in Xi’an, China.

This award is named after two extraordinary Australian born electron microscopists; Alex Moodie and John Cowley who made significant contributions to the fields of transmission electron microscopy and diffraction. The award was first established in 1984, with our own Prof. Paul Munroe receiving it in 1996!

Check out some of his stunning micrographs below: