Scientia Professor Aibing Yu receives Ian Wark Medal

11 December 2009

ARC Federation Fellow and Scientia Professor Aibing Yu has been awarded this year’s Ian Wark medal, by the Australian Academy of Science. The Ian Wark medal and lecture recognises the contributions to Australian Science and Industry, by the late Sir William Wark. It recognises research which contributes to the prosperity of Australia, where that prosperity is attained through the advancement of scientific knowledge and its application. The award is normally made every 2 years. Most recent recipients include Alan Reed, former director at the CSIRO Institute of Energy and Earth Resources, and Professor Graham Clark, Inventor of the bionic ear. Aibing is certainly now within an elite class of Australian researchers.