Winners of School Research Poster Competition

21 December 2011

The School of Materials Poster Competition attracted a large number of entries from the School’s postgraduate research students and postdoctoral research fellows. The School congratulates the following winners and runners up:


  • Matthew Komiyama – Numerical Model to Lengthen the Blast Furnace Campaign Life
  • Hugh Simons – In-situ neutron diffraction of electric field-induced transformations in lead-free 94%(Bi1/2Na1/2)TiO3-6%BaTiO3
  • Jake Cao – Magnesium-Based Bio-absorbable Metallic Glasses

Runners up:

  • Neil Lazo – Design of low density biomimetic core structures
  • Yansong Shen – Modelling the combustion of coal blends in energy-intensive industries
  • Joseph Arsecularatne – On the wear mechanism of human dental enamel
  • Dorian Hanaor – Titanium Dioxide Photocatalysts for Water Purification
  • All have received a certificate and cash prizes totalling over $2500.

Thank you to Hugh Simons, President of the School Postgraduate Students Committee, for his efforts in organising the event and also to our judges – Prof Chris Sorrell, Dr David Pinson (BluescopeSteel) and Maryam Khajeh (Faculty of Science Commercialisation Manager).