Welcome from HoS

Issue Month: 

  • Jul

Issue Year: 

Welcome to the second newsletter for 2015. The relocation of the School into its new building is now almost complete. Most of the relocation of equipment into laboratories has been undertaken and this process will conclude at the end of July. Inevitably, there have been a few teething problems, but overall the number of defects has been pleasingly low. 
The School has again done well in the attracting research grants. Academic staff in the School were awarded three ARC Linkage grants in the current rounds. Successful grants were led by Chris Sorrell, Alan Crosky and Jianqiang Zhang. 
Earlier in 2015, Professor Ian Jacobs commenced as the university’s new President and Vice-Chancellor.  Professor Jacobs, along with several members of his team, visited the School in its new building in May. The vice-chancellor addressed staff in the School and met with key members of the School to learn of the School’s progress and future plans. Professor Jacobs was very positive in his evaluation of the School’s present position. 
In July, Mark Hoffman and myself hosted a visit to the new building by Professor Sir Rupert Myers. Professor Myers was the School’s foundation head of school and a former vice-chancellor. Professor Myers was delighted to visit the School’s new home and was amused to note that, at the time, many thought that the School’s original building was regarded as “too big” when it was constructed in the early 1960’s. 
On the 23rd of July the School will host a ‘building warming’ evening for former students, staff and other friends and supporters of the School. Those attending will have the opportunity to catch up with colleagues and class mates and to kick the tyres on the new building.  Our new vice-chancellor, Ian Jacobs, and Dean, Merlin Crossley, have committed to attend this event. You can register to attend at: http://www.materials.unsw.edu.au/webform/alumni-friends. We look forward to meeting everyone and showing off the building.
Professor Paul Munroe, Head of School School of Materials Science and Engineering.